Black Dawn by Mallory McCartney

The end of an Empire. The rise of a Queen.”by Mallory McCartney in 33851538

Emory Fae enjoys leading a quiet, normal life that is until two mysterious, and dare I say handsome soldiers show up at her apartment doorstep and the life she knew is instantly whisked away. Coming from the magical and ravaged world of Kiero, Emory is brought back not realizing that both men are darkly woven in her past. Discovering she is the long lost heir to the Royal Line Emory is thrown into Black Dawn Rebellion with a dynamic role to ignite the rebels and reclaim her throne. With both lives clashing Emory uncovers hidden secrets from her past, a power held long dormant, and will soon realize there are worse things than supernatural humans, love, loss, betrayal, and a Mad King.

Some things are better left in the shadows.

I started reading Black Dawn in early April of 2017.I read the bulk of it during that month but at the end I got busy with packing, moving, and starting a new job so reading got put to the sidelines, which I hate doing! But, luckily, I found time to pick up the book again to read it and wow! I am amazed.

McCartney wrote a book with a compelling characters. I love how most of her characters act against their own self interest and end up putting themselves into messy situations. These are the types of characters I was always taught to strive for in my writing classes. They were very intriguing in the development of the plot.

In addition to her compelling characters, McCartney also wrote a story with an exciting image1-1plot. I don’t want to give much away or spoil it but At times it seems like there is a lot going on because it is so packed with action. There were many twists and turns in the novel that kept me on my toes. The ending is unexpected from the beginning but is appropriately hinted at throughout the end of the novel. I am unsure what is happening after the novel ends but I sure am looking forward to reading about it when McCartney’s next novel is finished and released.

My only real criticism that has stuck with me throughout my reading of the novel were a few errors in the manuscript. I noticed a couple a typos, two in particular, although I didn’t write them down so I probably won’t be able to find them until the next time I read the novel. Regardless, it was simple things. I have seen greater errors in very established author’s work. In any case, I attribute the editor for catching these errors but hey, we’re all human. Sometimes tiny mistakes slip through the crack but I don’t think an entire book should be dismissed because of that. This is her first published book and I am very impressed with it overall.

I have also given the book a review on Goodreads. I gave it a 5/5 review and you can read my comments here. I highly recommend that you pick up a copy when you get the chance to. It is a really good one, especially if you like Young Adult Fantasy!

Leave a Reply

